"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

The author of the statement concludes that the increase use of Salicylates in food, which is a member of the same chemical family as aspirin, is a sole reason for the declination of the headaches. The author also claim that the further use of Salicylates as a food preservative will further reduce the number of headaches. The statement is utterly based on dubious and incomplete evidences. Hence, I disagree with the statement for the following reasons.

First of all, the statement does not provide any information about the previous use of Salicytes in the food and the number of headaches reported by the people. Hence, one can not conclude that the Salicytes has reduced the number of headaches. Furthermore, the author does not provide sufficient information about the food products which contain Salicylates. Thus, there might be a chance that people who reported the decrement of number of headaches, do not even eat those food products.

The statement mentions that the headaches reported by the people of the group have been steadily declined in twenty years. However, the statement fails to account any details about the people of the experimental group. The sample group might not be representative of whole population and all the age groups. It may not consist enough people to make the conclusion. Moreover, twenty years is a very long time. People of the experimental group may have changed their habit of living, which may have been result in the decrement of headaches. For example, exercise and healthy food can help to reduce the number of headaches experienced by a person.

Finally, the statement states that the further use of Salicylates as food preservative will further decrease the number of headaches suffered by people. The author can not make predictions.

In conclusion, statement is fundamentally flawed as it stands. The author must provide more buttresses to strengthen the argument. The author must include more statistical data about the sample group. The author also needs to include the more information about the amount of Salicylates used in food products.