“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit.”

The petition sent to the residents of Youngtown by environmental protection group mainly concluded that the smith corporation should not be allowed to develop land in the youngtown wildlife preserve area which hinders the privacy of the birds. There are many of the questions which are needed to be answered in this argument.

Firstly, they stated that the smith corporation should not be allowed to develop land that is now part of wildlife preserve. But it has not been said that since when the area became the part of wildlife preserve and when the land was sanctioned to smith corporation for the development whether the area was under the wildlife preserve area. If so then who has sanctioned the land to smith corporation for development should be checked upon. As the plans had been made by the corporation for development of the land so it may result in a big loss to the corporation.

Secondly, it has been stated that only small amount of land will be given to smith. Then what is the problem in allowing to develop such small land? As the wildlife preserve area is generally larger in area so by sanctioning only small land to the smith corporation it may not create very big impact.

Thirdly, the company is planning to build the hotel in that area and it has promised to ensure the preservation of sanctuary. So what are the problems in building the hotel in that area should be first researched. Also the petition was made after sometime after the land was given to the smith and they made a plan to build the hotel there. So other consequences should be checked by the head environmental protection group that is the petition really made to preserve the area or there has been some rivalries of smith corporation who had given the money to the person of environmental protection group for stopping the work of smith corporation.

Fourthly, it has been stated that if the hotel is built than it will hinder the birds privacy and hence the number of visitors in the area will be reduced. But there are also other possibilities like if the hotel is built in the area than more number of visitors will be willing to live near the area and hence ultimately the number visitors will be increasing to the area.

In conclusion all above factors should be taken into consideration before any step is taken by the environmental protection group. The step should be taken keeping in mind that it proves beneficiary for the smith as well as it also helps to preserve the area. This can be done by imposing some of the rules which the hotel needs to abide by for the preservation of area.