In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it seems that respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences, but there is lot of weakness in the arguement.

It is stated that in first study that people preffered studying literacy classics, but it is not mentioned do people study these books inside libraries or check out these books. In an another study it was found that most of the people in Waymarch preferred studying books in libraries rather than borrowing them. Number of books cheched out is very low. Popularity of kind of books can not be determined by number of times they are borrowed.

Furthermore, classical literacy books are like a treasury for the libraries, these books are very expensive to borrow. Most of the people finishes reading books within 2-3 hours. Maybe people prefer these books in the library as they can be finished in less time, and borrowing them is not economical.

Moreover, number of classical litaracy books in libraries is very less as compared to other type of books. While library has highest number of Mystery books follwed by children's painting books. Mystery books are checked out more often maybe because they are in abudance as compared to literacy classics rather than because of popularity. People prefer studying literacy classics, but as they are very few in number, avid readers starts reading different type of books.

Waymarsh readers are typically more than 50 years old. Most of these readers preferred reading classic books. These readers are more interested in reading book in the library with thier friends. While mystery novel is usually read by childrens who are more likely to borrow book. Sometimes mystery book is borrowed by parents for their childrens.