Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two different regions The buildings were erected by two different construction companies Alpha and Zeta Even though the two buildings had identical floor plans

The argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on unwarranted assumption that Alpha construction company is better than Zeta, and other assumption is that Zeta costs more to build than alpha.Taken as a whole, these unstated assumptions render the argument highly suspect. If these unstated assumptions do not hold true than the argument totally falls apart.

Firstly, the author assumes that the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. The argument also mentions that the two new buildings are in different regions. It is possible that the one area is expensive than the other, due to which the cost of Zeta is also higher than Alpha. Also, the cost material and labor required to construct the buildings differ from area to area. The author doesn't provide any evidence or information such as the labor and material cost in two different regions.

Secondly, the author states that the two buildings had identical floor plans, building constructed by Zeta has expenses for maintenance last year were twice those of the building constructed by Alpha. The author only mentions the last year expenses, he or she have not mentioned about the past expenses of both the companies. This is again an assumption without any evidence. Furthermore, the author mentions that the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been higher than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. It may be possible that there are more number of employees in Zeta building than in alpha building. Also, may be more meetings are held in Zeta building, due to which many people come there often.

Finally, the argument includes that Alpha has a stable workforce with little employee turnover. As more people come in Alpha for meetings, the main focus is how to attract the customer for their product, that is why turnover is not that great. Also, the material and labor is not available as much required. Careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's conclusion in several respects, and raises several skeptical questions.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence. To bolster it further, the author should provide a concrete evidence by way of reliable survey why Zeta costs more than alpha to build and why energy consumption is more of Zeta building.