There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that people seeking longer and healthier lives should consider moving to small communities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author argures that people should leave to small communities rather than bigger ones to live a longer and healthier lives according to the comparison of the people's health between the data from small town Leeville and the large city of Masonton. In these two cities, we are told by the author that there were fewer workers in the Leeville asking for sick leave than those did in the city of Maston. Besides, there was only one physicians to per thousand local people while the number of the doctors in Masonton to a thousand people on average is five times as much as that in Leeville. Moreover, the average age of the residents in Leeville is much higher than the age in Masonton. While these evidence are not convincing as there are some loopholes in them. We should reeamine them carefully.

To begin with, the fewer number of workers who asking for sick leave shows no obvious connnction with the healthier life in Leevile than in Masonton. As we are not aware of the populations of the workers in both of the two places. It is highly possible that threre are much fewer workers in Leeville due to the scale of the town. Thus the totall number of employees detemines the less workers asking for leaves because of their illness. Likewise, we are not aware of the establishments of local companies or industries in both of the two places, either, we could not figure out why the workers asking for sick leave and the their maladies. Maybe the workers with heavy jobs which did not pay for them money on the days when they were absent for works, thus they have to work hard and suffered from the illness at work. On the other hand, the situation of the workers in the Leeville may be totally different while both of these reasons have no connections with the healthier life in the small places for people to live longer and stronger. So there are other evidence reqired to prove the argrument.

In addtion, the average ages of the two places are not compelling to support the argument in that the average age itself shows no informations about the people's health conditions. The much higher average age in Leeville means the most of people living in the place right now are older than those living in the city of Masonton. While how long do they live is still in question. To futher this point of survey, the author should find out the average longevities in both of the two places which could prove the argument.

Finally, the comparison of the numbers of physicians to per thousand people is not convincing. In that we do not know the conditions of the hospitals of the two places. For example, maybe in Leeville there were fewer hospitals while there were full of patients for various disease in each of them. While the case of the Maston maybe different like the doctors are not busy at all. On the other hand, insufficient physicians could not guarantee the people's health when they get sick.

In all ,the author's argument is not compelling, in order to prove the assumption, the author should make wide survey in both of the two places.