"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that athletic competition for children under nine should be discontinued in Parkville because of following advantages. First disadvantage is many young players people suffered injuries. Second disadvantage is long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Third disadvantage is youth-league soccer players ,when interviewed for a recent study, reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents. There is no proper evidence to support the argument and the argument is based on assumptions.

Firstly, it assumes that recent study results are accurate and people surveyed are larger enough to represent the general population. There is no evidence that most of the children, who are interviewed, are below the age of nine. The study involves majority of soccer players and assumes that the same applies to other sports. If the recent study involves few percentage of people in Parkville, then it undermines the argument. They should look for alternate way for supporting the argument as the recent study do not involve people from all the sports and there is no evidence that it is large enough to represent majority of the children below the age of nine.

Education experts say that long practice sessions for the sports take away time that could be used for training. Secondly, it assumes that the prediction made by education experts is valid. If many of the sports do not have long practice sessions for the children under nine, then Parkville people are making wrong decision to discontinue organized athletic competition. If all the sports have long practice sessions, then it offers support to the argument.

Thirdly, people in Parkville assume that disadvantages outweigh advantages in the case where more people children below the age of nine participate in organized athletic competition. In the argument, there are no advantages discussed and only disadvantages are discussed. The argument should state all possible advantages and disadvantages before concluding that it is best to discontinue athletic training for children under nine.

There should be some proper evidence supporting the assumptions for strengthening the argument. If the assumptions are invalid, then the argument falls apart.