Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author argues that Dr. Field conclusion regarding children in Tertia is not correct. Dr. Field’s study showed that children were reared by the entire village rather than their biological parents. However, the author claims that this observation is not logical and most of the children in the region were grown by their biological parents. However, the author’s interview and results have 3 main flaws described as below.

First, The number of children interviewed is not mentioned. For example, if the group of children contained less than 30 people, it is not logical to reach a conclusion. Statistically, a sample can be taken as Normal distribution, if the number of the observation is more than 30. Accordingly, the put more emphasis on the claim, the author should mention the number of observations.

Secondly, The author says that children in the village spent more time to talk about their biological parents rather than other members of the village. The allegation has a considerable flaw. Admittedly, the children talking about their parent could be because of their reservation regarding their biological parents and are worried about the way they are growing up in the small society. Furthermore, the author should have mentioned the content of the interview and the questions being asked by children. If he/she asked constantly about their parent, how could children avoid to talk about them?

Finally, the author’s chose the sample of his observation from a group of islands. It is true that Tetia is located in the region but how many children he selected to talk with them. The author failed to mention the number of children in the Terita. For example, it is completely possible that no children from Tetia were selected. Although his allegation could be right for the whole region, it cannot be reasonable to consider it for the Terita.

In conclusion, the author cannot rule out the Dr. Field's claim which is the children of Terita were raised by the members of the village instead of their own parents. because he did not declare the number of individuals being interviewed, the question he asked from children, and the number of children in the sample are from Terita.