"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy—and generate additional tax revenues—is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

The argument that the revenues of Hopewell will increase by building a new golf course and resort hotel, like ocean view, is a flawed one. Because to arrive at that conclusion, the following questions have to answered: "Are people are interested in playing golf and resort hotel?", "Are there any other better ways to increase revenue?", "Even if people are interested, is there any land available to construct the golf course and resort hotel?", "Is the climate of the Hopewell is tropical or cold?.

First question implies that, Hopewell Municipality should conduct a survey to determine whether its citizens are interested in golf course and resort hotel. Because if people are indifferent to them, then it is futile to construct the golf course and resort hotel. Also, the investment will be lost, which further decreases the revenue of Hopewell.

Second one implies that, Hopewell should check whether there are any better ways to improve its revenue other than building the golf course and resort hotel. As sometimes, there can be better lucrative ways than them like building parks, theaters etc., which may generate revenues better than the golf course and resort hotel.

Thirdly, if Hopewell wants to build the golf course and resort hotel, then it has to check for the availability of land. Because, the golf course requires enormous area. If the land is not available, then they cannot build them and they have to look for other ways to increase the revenue.

Finally, if milieu of Hopewell is cold, then they cannot build the golf course. Even if they build it, it won't be profitable. Because, golf course requires somewhat tropical climate, where people can actively play the golf, and this helps in increment of the revenue.

This argument could be strengthened, if the above stated questions were answered. But, in current form, this argument is an erroneous o and a fallacious one.