The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of human resources at Climpson according to some illogical assumptions, purposed the installation of electronic monitoring software, to control the use of the internet by the employees in their workstations. In the proposal, not only some surmises are shaky, but also the conclusion conducted according to these surmises are misleading too. In what follows, these errors will be discussed.

The first problem of the proposal is the unstated hypothesis that claims there is an inverse relationship between the productivity of workers and their internet use. By the internet usage of employees, their level of productivity will be decreased. This assumption is faint since there are other factors such as employees' status of education or the cooperation network between the workers which enhance productivity and are crucial in the enhancement of productivity. For instance, there is the possibility that the employees use the internet network for the communication and sharing the ideas about the issue related to the company with their coworkers; in this situation, by the prohibition of internet use by the employees, their interconnection will be unconnected. On the other hand, if they had this interaction through the internet, they can exchange their thoughts and ideas and present a unique or efficient solution for issues in the company and increase its productivity. Therefore, forbidding the internet will not increase productivity.

Another issue of the prompt is the consideration of the hypothesis that punishment will reduce hours spend on the personal and recreational tasks by employees. Indeed, the punishment shows counteract reaction, as an individual is punished for his function, he is more eager to repeat the same action, this eagerness increases as the punishment are unfair. Consequently, there is a possibility that this punishment for internet usage, incites the employees to use the internet more than the past. Even the company blocks the internet access from the workstation, the workers can use their cellphone and its internet for their personal and amusement tasks. In this condition, the castigation provokes the employees to bypass the law and take some action against the company's rule. In this condition, the presumption of the establishment of a good work ethic in the company is also faint too. Thus, the punishment will not be beneficial for the prohibition of internet use and encouragement for the organization of work ethic.

Finally, the president assumed that this action will decline the wasted times by the employees. Even by considering that this proposed plan will work as the president assumed, there are no warranties that it will reduce the wasted hours. Since the internet in some situations eases life and does some time-consuming works in the fastest and easiest way. For example, the online payment of the bill is one of the actions which is done in the few minutes; while, the direct payment through the banks is time-consuming. In this scenario, the employees, who are prohibited to use the internet from their workstation, have to take a period off from the company to do the payment through the bank. As a result, the consumed period will be longer than which would be spent on the internet.

To wrap it up, in the reflection of aforementioned facts, one can easily realize that the president advice can the accepted if the relationship between the productivity and internet usage, punishment and decrement of internet use, and saving time by the decrement of internet use is comprehensively and cogently is clarified.