We must reduce overhead here at the café. Instead of opening at 6 a.m. weekdays, we will now open at 8 a.m. On weekends, we will only be open from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. The decrease in hours of operations will help save money because we won’t be paying for utilities, employee wages, or other

operating costs during the hours we are closed. This is the best strategy for us to save money and remain in business without having to eliminate jobs.

The reasoning in the argument is not logically flawed; however, it relies on a number of assumptions and lacks proper evidences. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that decreasing in hours of operations will necessarily help them to save money. But a series of questions and issues are to be taken into account before coming up with the conclusion that renders the argument conclusion not necessarily valid.

Based on the argument, the morning open hours are going to decrease from 6 a.m. to 8 a.m. A lot of companies mandate their employees to start in the morning before 7 or 7:30 in the morning. Hence, people prefer to eat breakfast at a Café in the morning before they head to their offices, or even maybe order a take away coffee, between 6 to 8 a.m. The writer of the argument should be aware of number of drinks and breakfast they sell in the morning, and compare their income to the mentioned expenses in that two hours. The argument fails to provide any justification in this manner.

The argument also leaves many other unanswered questions. It does not explain about the number of the employees. What is the “other” operating costs? Are they corporate a considerable portion of the costs? How many people are working in the Café? Are their wages will significantly impose expenses to the owner? In case they get paid in hours, the owner can revise their contract and pay them differently. Also, their presence timing can be managed more efficiently, and they can be at the Café as a part time employee and reduce the costs in this way.

On weekends people usually tend to drink or eat at a Café. And the later it gets, the crowder streets are. Closing Café at 4 o’clock in the afternoon on weekends cannot be a good idea since it will deprive them from a big potential source of money. So, instead of cutting down to expenses, the author might think as better ways to improve the income. It can be a better strategy to save money and remain in business.

Because the argument makes several unjustified assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that decreasing the open hours of a Café would results in cutting down the expenses. Many factors affect the subject and the argument should provide more corroboration to be considered valid.