"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

The recommendation given by the board of directors might seem appealing in the first glance that Monarch Books should open a café in its store. However, to fully evaluate this argument we need to consider many factors which might end up weakening the argument or might actually be quite valid. In order to make that determination, we need to know more and then analyze what we learnt.

The first piece of evidence that we would need in order to evaluate the argument is how many children visit the Monarch Books, as the café is being built by discontinuing the children’s session. Another point that has to be considered is that children are generally interested in books, which might affect the number of children coming to the Monarch Books as well as the elders who take their children and come to the store, this might create a significant decline in the total number of children and elders coming to the store.

Further, relying on the national census might not be advisable for it is a census given for the whole nation, we do not know whether the population of children has decreased in that area or increased. Moreover it is just the population of children who are under the age of 10, it doesn’t talk about the total number of children.

Building up, evidence which can be considered is whether or not the Regal has cut down the children’s session. We are not aware of the way in which the café was built, whether it has an extra space to build the café or it has discontinued any session. Further the Regal has recently opened the café and the results of it are not known. This can’t be a good stand from board of director's.

Besides, the Monarch Books has been there since past 20years and is known for its collection of books and has a good customer base, compromising on the books for the café is not a good idea. This could have been valid if it had an enough space for the café but that is not the situation.

Clearly, we can say that this argument doesn’t have a good support to defend its conclusion. It has to be reconsidered for a better understanding.