When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The above given argument states that in order to enhance the popularity of stanley park the town needs to provide more benches and seating arrangement by converting unused open areas into spaces that could bes used for socialising.The author supports his point of view by mentioning that popularity of stanley park declined as it is indicated by video cameras in parking lot's showing only 50 cars per day.However,the information provided in the argument seems to suffer from logical flaws and doesnt provide the necessary evidence in reaching that conclusion.

Firslty,the author concluded that stanley park is not used anymore like in the past because of the vide recordings of camera's in the parking lot.but this seems pretty absurd as how can a mere camera recording can define the number of visitors of park.The author also mentioned that there are an average of 50 cars per day.He cannot assume that everyone who visits the park uses a car.Even if that is the case,it is possible that they may park their car somewhere else and could visit the park by walk.Also, many people whoreside in the neighbhourhood of the park could easily have brisk walk to the park than using a vehicle.Similarly,children or teenagers would most probably use a bicycle to visit the park.The author simply made the claim solely based on number of vehicles in the parking lot wihtout taking into consideration any other possibilities.

Secondly,there is data insufficiency regarding the stanley park as the details the size of the area,the timings of the park,the area where it is situated....etc.These details can provide a clear why the popularity of park has been declining.Also it is mentioned that carlton park is situated in heart of the city which could be way more accessible to people.The another reason stated by the author is that stanley park doesnot provide ample seating which carlton park provides.The purpose of both the parks could be different.For suppose,a theme park or amusement park would not require more benches as people visit them to enjoy being thrilled and excited.However in the case of normal parks,people who want to spend time or breathe fresh air or would like to have a personal time would require benches.

Furthermore,the popularity of stanley parks was initially higher when it was first established but later on there could be more competitors who could have eat up part os stanley customers.Therefore,it is useless even though the unused space is converted by making seating arrangements as people who find other parks better would certainly them.

To conclude,the argument provides some facts to convince the readers with it's proposed conclusion but the information itself suffers from loopholes which are presented above and need to be examined carefully and only then an attempt to make conclusion can be made.