Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The prompt talks about woven baskets with a particularly distinctive weaving pattern which were thought to be uniquely Palean, but argues that certain evidence has shown otherwise and that the woven baskets might not have been unique to Palea.

Firstly, it is possible that some natural element "carried" the baskets across the river. Perhaps there used to be hurricanes in that region which could easily throw objects around, many miles away. Thus the woven baskets could still be uniquely Palean, but could just have been tossed around by strong natual elements. A study of the weather elements in this region in prehistoric times would offer additional evidence that could counter the argument of the baskets not being uniquely Palean.

It is also possible that the people in Lithos got to know about these woven baskets and were interested in procuring some of them. There might have been a barter trade between the two communities which would have allowed the Paleans to give some of their baskets in exchange for some goods or services. An investigation of the socities of Palea and Lithos, especially their trade, would shed some light on whether such a barter trade could have been possible.

A related possiblity is that the people in Lithos wanted to learn how to make these baskets and the Paleans obliged by teaching them the skill required to do so. The people in Lithos then made such baskets and used them. In this scenario, some of the baskets might have been produced by the residents of Lithos. However, the baskets were still uniquely Palean as it was the Palean's style and skill that led to the production of these. Again, an investigation into the two societies would help determine if this scenario was plausible.

All in all, more investigation into the weather elements as well as the characteristics of the two socities would help determine if the basket was in fact, uniquely Palean or not.