The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given text talks about two real estate firms in a town - Adams Realty and Fitch Realty and argues that Adams is clearly superior. The argument hinges on several stated and unstated assumptions, which if discussed thoroughly, could break the argument apart.

The text describes that Adams has 40 real estate agents, while Fitch has 25, some of whom work part-time. It describes this in a manner which implies that a bigger workforce must imply a superior company. This assumption is completely unfounded. It is possible that agents of Adams have lesser workload than Fitch's agents. This point might seem in favour of Adams, however too less a workload is unproductive for the individual as well as the company. It is also possible that Fitch's agents are much more skilled than their counterparts in Adams and can get the job done with fewer people. Thus a bigger workforce in no way implies that the company is superior.

In the letter, the homeowner talks about the differences in his/her experience of selling a home with Adams and Fitch, about nine years apart. One cannot compare these experiences without bringing the multitude of other factors that would influence the real state market between a year back and ten years back. It is quite possible that when the homeowner listed his/her home with Fitch, the real estate market was down and houses weren't getting sold even after being listed for a year. On the other hand, when he/she listed another home with Adams, the real estate market was thriving and Adams had to put very little effort to sell the home. Thus a shorter time for selling the house, without considering other factors, does not point to Adams' superiority.

Moreover, there is no discussion about whether the two homes sold were similar or not. It is definitely possible that the home that sold after four months was in a damaged state and was located in a bad neighbourhood with high crime rates, while the home that sold quickly was in perfect condition and located in a great homely neighbourhood with hardly any crimes being committed. This dimension should also be factored in while comparing Adams to Fitch.

The homeowner also states that to get a good price, one should use Adams. This statement is supposedly based on the fact that Adams had twice the revenue last year as Fitch did. However it is quite possible that on making a successful sale, Adams takes a greater percentage of the revenue from the sale than Fitch. Thus the homeowner would get more money for themselves if they go with Fitch, assuming they can make the sale at a similar price.

To conclude, there are several unsubstantiated assumptions in the text like bigger workplace implying superiority, assuming that the real estate market was the same between one and ten years ago, etc. These assumtions should be carefully studied and more facts should be brought to the table before concluding if Adams really is superior to Fitch or not.