To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

To understand the most important characteristics of society, I believe it is imperative to study its major cities.

Major cities have become a hub for the job market. They experience the influx of thousands of youths from other cities, hoping to land a job and make a living. Smaller neighbouring cities do not have such job opportunities and hence job-seekers are forced to come to the major cities. Studying the inflow of job-seekers along with the current state of employment would give deep insights into how the society is functioning as a whole.

Apart from being the hub for jobs, major cities are also relatively more cosmopolitan than their neighbouring towns. Since people might come from all over the country to settle and make a livelihood in these cities, the culture of the cities becomes a blend of what was already present and what the new immigrants are bringing in. Different cultures interact and each contributes to the cities' culture and tradition. For instance, one of the more cosmopolitan cities in India might have concerts for traditional South Indian carnatic music which receive large attendancem, while concerts of heavy metal English bands might also be relatively common and popular. Studying this cultural melange would definitely improve one's understanding of society.

Major cities often have offices for the top firms, which is what attracts job-seekers. With more people immigrating to get jobs, more firms establish themselves in these cities. With the positive reinforcement cycle, the cities expand, in terms of demography and economy. The government pumps more money into these cities for development and building better infrastructure. Study of such cities and their development is crucial to understanding how a society is progressing.

However it is also important to note that a study of the characteristics of a society should not discard the multitutde of other smaller cities and towns present in the country. These smaller population centers will also give us valuable insights that could perhaps not be derived from looking at only major cities, leading to a more holistic and well-rounded study.

To conclude, I believe major cities should definitely be studied to understand the most important characteristics of a society. However to gain a more holistic undetstanding, smaller cities should also be studied.