On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals

The given text talks about the population in Balmer Island increases in the summer months and the traffic accidents also increase. The text decribes a possible solution and implies that it would reduce moped accidents in Balmer Island. However the text makes several unsubstantiated assumptions.

One of the claims is that a reduction in the number of rentals per day by the island's moped rental companies would reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. However, it is not necessary that this happens. Reduction in the number of mopeds on the road would reduce the traffic. Thus, it is quite possible that the rest of the traffic, including mopeds, on the drives more rashly. Less traffic on the road offers them more space where they can speed and possibly flout traffic laws. Thus, a limit on the reduction of moped rentals per day need not achieve the desired effect of reduced number of accidents. To shed more light, there should be a study on the accidents that happened - why they happened, whether it was the pedestrian's fault or the moped rider's, whether the rider was drunk, etc.

Moreover, rental companies could get around the daily rental restriction by splitting their companies into several chunks, each of which can then rent mopeds independently. Even if they adhere to the limit, they might be able to rent the same number of or even more mopeds.

The text mentions that the restriction on the daily number of moped rentals was implemented in the neighbouring town of Seaville and a 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents was observed last year.

Firstly, there is no evidence to connect the daily rental restriction to the effect that was observed. In other words, the restriction need not be the cause of the reduced percentage of moped accidents. It is quite possible that reduction in moped accidents was due to other factors such as information campaigns by the town council or hiked fines for traffic infractions.

Secondly, even if the restriction was the cause of decreased percentage of accidents, it is not necessary that the same measure would work in Balmer Island. Perhaps the residents of Seaville are much more sensitive to traffic safety and the rental restriction made them ride the mopeds more carefully, while the residents of Balmer Island could be the more rebellious kind having an opposite reaction to the moped rental restriction.

It is essential to have a detailed study that answers why the restriction worked in Seaville, if it at all did, and whether the same could be applicable to the populace of Balmer Island.

To conlude the text makes several unstated and unsubstantiated assumptions that must be tackled before it can be concluded that a daily restriction on moped rental would bring down the percentage of moped accidents in Balmer Island.