A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education of the youth is what makes a country progress. This makes it imperative to have the best policies and educational system in place which can impart knowledge to our children, who would be the future of the country. I believe having different curriculums in different regions of the nation would hinder this process and I support the stance that a nation should require all its students to study under the same national curriculum.

In the first year of study at universities, the university curriculum is supposed to bring up the students from the skill level of high school to that required for an undergraduate program. Moreover students enrolling in most universities hail from a variety of different states and regions. If these students studied different curriculae in high school, their skill levels would vary and it would be hard for the university to judge an average skill level. Being optimistic and setting an expectation for students to know a lot when they join university would lead to lot of the students struggling to understand what is taught in lectures. On the other hand, being pessimistic and expecting very basic knowledge would bore those students who have learnt a lot more in high school itself and waste precious time and resources, both on part of the students as well as the university. This problem would be solved by having a national curriculum which would bring uniformity in the students' skill level.

Having a standard national curriculum across the whole nation allows students across different regions to be compared. Consider a university admissions committee which receives marks of students who did their schooling under different curriculae. One student might have done it from the central government's board while another could have done it under his state government's board. Since both of these boards would have different difficulties and styles of teaching, it would be extremely difficult to compare the marks these students scored, across these boards. Having one central board across the whole nation would solve this problem. The problem of comparing apples to oranges would be transformed into the problem of comparing two apples.

Many-a-times, the parent of a child going to high school gets a job in a different state. However, the family hesistates to re-locate since their child would have difficulty adjusting in school. The curriculum the child was studying earlier and the curriculum he would have to study in the new state could be vastly different and lead to many challenges in terms of coping with the new educational standards. Parents obviously do not want to inconvenience their child and wish his education to remain unaffected, and hence decline many opportunities of re-locating for jobs. The same holds for teachers. Re-locating across states would mean that high school teachers would have to get accustomed to a new curriculum, which would require quality time - time that could be otherwise spent on actually teaching and interacting with the sutdents. Having a national curriculum would remove this problem.

While a national curriculum would certainly be beneficial, it would be challenging to implement in a diverse country like India. Many states in India speak different languages and this is reflected in the state curriculae which teach the respective state's vernacular language. Thus a national curriculum would have to be designed in a way that students from different states can still learn the regional language.

To conclude, a standard national curriculum would have many benefits, if implemented properly. However care must be taken in countries like India where there is wide varierin regional languages across states.