Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels

In this text, the author argues that the business of Central Plaza has decreased because of the increasing popularity of skateboarding in the area. This argument rests on several unsubstantiated assumptions, which I discuss below.

The argument mentions that there has been a dramatic increase of litter and vandalism which might turn away potential shoppers. The author believes that the increased littering and vandalism stems from the increased popularity of skateboarding. However, there is no evidence to connect the two. It would be prudent to have street cameras that can record the miscreants who are performing such activities so that it can be determined if the skateboarders are responsible or not.

The author argues that the dramatic increase in skateboarding over the past two years has resulted in steady decreases in the number of shoppers in Central Plaza. There is no evidence whatsoever that ties these two effects together. It is possible that the economy was going downhill from the past couple of years which resulted in people spending less and saving more. Studies and reports on the economic condition of the area as well as how it affected the daily lives of the residents would be a good measure to deduce whether economic factors are responsible for the reduced business at Central Plaza.

Say we do consider that the economic condition was the same over the past couple of years and that it should have had no effect on the shopping habits of the residents - it is quite possible that newer shopping centers opened up that catered to the needs of the residents better. The newer centers might have newer stock of goods, better places to eat, better ambience and in general, a more positive experience to offer to the shoppers. Evidence of such competing shopping centers that opened up would help shed light on whether this was the cause of reduced business at Central Plaza.

I would like to conclude by saying that there is a plethora of reasons that could be responsible for reduced business at Central Plaza. It would unwise to not seek concrete evidence for possible explanations and pin it, without reason, on the skateboarders.