Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

The given text presents the claim that governments must ensure that major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive. The reason given is that cities are the sites where a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated. I agree with the claim but disagree with the reason given to substantiate it.

In today's world, major cities are flourishing centers of trade and development. Most major companies set up their offices in these cities. Most people who are unemployed go to such cities to look for jobs. New factories crop up on the outskirts of these cities to take advantage of the ease of trade. Thus, these cities are the places where most of the economic growth takes place. To support this growth, I believe the government should definitely offer whatever financial support is needed for these cities to thrive and continue contributing to the nation's economy.

While these cities are huge factors in the nation's economic success, I believe they severly lag behind in cultural preservation. Centuries ago, there were very less "major cities", if they even could be called that. The small towns and villages were the places where culture would flourish. Artists would display and sell their work, sculptors would sculpt beautiful earthen pots, while snake charmers would enthrall the audience with their impressive skill of charming a snake. As cities and metropolitans came up, people migrated to them to seek jobs and settle in a better place. However, these cultural traditions remained in the smaller villages and towns. City life was too fast-paced to handle such idiosyncracies of the rural life. For instance, even now, small towns on the outskirts of New Delhi house snake charmers who go from town to town to show their skills and earn a living. Finding these snake charmers inside the city bounds is a rare event.

Due to the huge inflow of migrants into major cities, the culture of the cities became a pot-pourri. Lines between cultural identities became blurred and they merged to form one big cosmopolitan culture in which they lost their unique characters. Many residents of New Delhi, for instance, hailed from different states nearby such as Haryana, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar; but on coming to New Delhi, they drowned in the cosmopolitan culture of the city and slowly lost the cultural identities they had nurtured back in their hometowns.

To conclude, I would like to say tha governments should definitely support major cities financially but such cities severly lag behind in cultural preservation and generation and it would be unwise to cite this reason to justify their financial support.