A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring

The given text argues about the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. This text makes several unsubstantiated assumptions that might not hold true. These are discussed below.

The study was done on eighteen rhesus monkeys. Eighteen is too small a sample size to make claims about scientific phenomena. Scientific experiments deal with larger sample sizes to discount random irrelevant effects that might affect the observed outcome of the experiment. It is possible that some other factor, say an environmental factor, caused such the observed behavior in the eighteen rhesus monkeys.

The text also gives the example of first-born humans producing higher levels of cortisol in stimulating situations. However, we must note that humans are not the same as monkeys. They are close species in the evolutionary tree, but this does not imply that one could use the observation of an experiment on humans as a case for monkeys. The higher stimulus could well be because of a more emotionally rounded upbringing rather than the birth order.

The given text also mentions the case of first-time mother monkeys having higher levels of cortisol than those who had had several offspring before. It is not mentioned how many such monkeys were observed in these experiments. Moreover, even if this observation holds true for first-time mother monkeys compared to those who had had several offspring before, this has no bearing whatsoever on the claim that birth order affects the offspring's levels of stimulation.

In closing, I think the claim is flawed for several reasons like small sample size in experiments and the fallacy of comparing uncomparable entities. I believe there would be other explanations that can account for the stated facts.