Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Educational institutions are the primary sites of imparting knowledge to students. In recent years, their role has grown to counsel students on what career choices they might pursue and/or be successful in. However, I believe educational institutions should not dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeeed.

The stated claim makes the assumption that educational institutions can gauge the aptitude of a student accurately and know what is best for the students. This might not be true. While such institutions might be able to gauge the scholarly aptitude of students, say in subjects like Mathematics or Physics, they might not be be good judges of musical dexterity or artistic skill. Not being able to judge students' aptitude accurately, it would be irresponsible of these institutions to dissuade them from pursuing fields in which they might not succeed.

Even if we make the case that such institutions can judge aptitude in a precise manner, a student's skill in a particular field may still grow. He/She might not be good at playing the guitar now but with enough tenacity and diligence, the student might become extremely proficient at playing the instrument. Thus, it wouldn't be right for educational institutions to judge students based on their current aptitude and then dissuade them from pusuing certain careers. Albert Einstein, who scored extremely poorly in Physics and Mathematics in college, went on to become one of the most brilliant scientists of all time. This journey of his is proof that even though it may seem that a person doens't have aptitude in a certain field, that can certainly change over time.

In recent years, career counsellors are being employed by more and more educational institutions to help guide students to the most appropriate career. While they are not authoritative figures on who can succeed in what career, their advice should definitely be a factor in considering whether a student should pursue a particular field of study or not. Such counsellors can also guide students to learn the particular skills required for a specific field of study.

To conclude, I believe educational institutions should not dissuade students from pursuing fields of study they might be unlikely to succeed in. Students might learn and develop their skillset to become good at fields they were previously lacking in. Career counsellors in institutions could help students guide into which career might be appropriate for them and how they could improve their skills if they want to target a field of study they are not skilled at.