Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The given text is a memorandum which describes a change in the news program of a television station. The memorandum also describes two negative observations regarding complaints from viewers and decreased advertising revenue from local businesses and implies that the change in the news program was responsible for these negative effects. However these implications are unsubstantiated.

There is no specific information regarding the viewers' complaints of the weather and local news coverage. It cannot be assumed that these complaints were about the lesser time that the news station was devoting on air to these segments. It is possible that they noticed inaccuracies in the content that was aired. Another possibility is that perhaps they wanted a different dimension of the social news - they were more interested in the local candidate's election campaign than coverage on the city's bad traffic situation. Howeer, if the complaints really were regarding the weather and local news coverage time, it would strengthen the argument that the station should restore the time devoted to these segments to its former level. More information on the complaints would allow us to better evaluate the argument.

The text mentions cancellations of advertising contracts from local businesses and assumes that this was due to the change in the station's coverage. However, there are many reasons that could be behind the cancellation of those contracts. It is possible that the market went down and many businesses who thought they had the advertising budget, actually didn't and so had to go ahead and cancel their contracts. Another possibility is that the businesses found the internet and social media to be better media to advertise their business on and their move to the digital world was not caused by the change in the station's coverage but lack of returns from advertising on television channels in general. If these businesses reveal the reason behind the cancellation of their adveritising contracts, it would help clear up the air regarding whether reverting back to the station's earlier coverage would bring back the advertising revenue.

To conclude, the memorandum makes several unsubstantiated assumptions about viewer complaints and the reasons behind cancellations of advertising contracts. It is essential to gather more information about both these claims - this would allow one to evaluate whether restoring the station's weather and local news coverage time would be a good move or not.