Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Today's world is rocked by scandals left and right. Every week there is news about some businessman accused of insider trading, some politician accosted of taking bribes or a sportsman testing positive for performance enhancing drugs. While they do cause lot of damage, I do believe they are useful as they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

When a scandal comes to light, there is news about it everywhere. Newspapers have front page headlines with extensive coverage while TV channels have endless debates and discussions about the incident that occured. The average citizen is drowned in this news and becomes aware of it; much more than he/she was of other news items. Our eyes open only when something happens and the media is blaring it out on all forms of media. On the flip side, if a speaker was talking about this scandal that might potentially happen, people would pay some heed to the news but would forget it by the end of the day. We would just pay a miniscule amount of attention to it and it would be as though nothing new had happened.

Speakers, when they talk about scandals, may talk about something that might happen or something that was quite likely, but it's hard to provide direct evidence as they themselves are speculating to some degree. However when a case of, say insider trading, comes out in the open, it is followed up with a thorough investigation by the appropriate organizations and hard evidence is gathered to determine the facts of the case. When the common man becomes aware of this evidence, he/she pays more attention to the scandal and the general problem it relates to.

Many-a-times scandals are also followed by proposed legislation to specifically reduce the possibility of such incidents from happening in the future. These laws are drawn up fast and are often approved much faster than other laws. When reformers speak about scandals, people get to know about it; yet it hardly causes legislation to be created to minimize the possibility of such scandals happening again.

While scandals do bring forth a lot of evidence and may result in specific legislation being created, they also ruin many lives and result in financial losses as well as emotional damage. There are effects which would not be present if a spearker or reformer would be talking about some potential scandals.

To conclude, scandals are useful as they open the eyes of the general public to the wrongdoings that are happening and often result in creation of specific legislation to prevent such scandals from happening. However, they also do a lot of monetary and emotional damage.