Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

In this writing, the author believes that because these baskets have been found only near the prehistoric village of Palea, these baskets have been made just by the Palean people. In the second part of the passage, the writer has posed that recently the archeologists found Palea baskets in Lithos and because there is a deep river between Palea and Lithos if Palea sold these baskets to Lithos, they should have had a boat to cross the river while we cannot found palean boat. Hence, these baskets were not specific for Palean. I think the writer's argument in the passage is not reasonable and I will discuss why I think in this way in the following paragraphs.

First, the writer stated that because these baskets have been found only in the vicinity of the Palean, they were specific for Palauan people. In this argument, the author does not give us sustainable evidence to support his claim and he just talks generally. In this regard, I can say may these baskets had been bought from other people who have extinct during the history and we do not have evidence about them.

Second, the author claimed that since archeologists have not been able to find Palean boats and the river is deep, hence Palean people could not cross river and baskets, which have been found in the Lithos had been made bay Lithos people. This argument is not reasonable, because in ancient time boats had been made by woods and wood products can destroy during the time. Therefore, we can say that Palean boats have been destroyed a long history.

Third, the author without any evidence believes that these baskets had been made in these two villages. How can we be sure that this two village did not buy these baskets from other people who disappear a long history and they had boats or other transportation to care these baskets.

In brief, as I discussed in the previous paragraphs, the author presented conclusions without reasonable facts to support them. Therefore, I argued that these conclusions cannot be true and if the writer wants to prove his argument, they should provide more scientific facts to support them.