To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Needless to say, one of the most important things which all governments try to know, is understanding the most important characteristics of societies in order to make suitable programs for them to gain social development. In this regard, some people believe that if governments' researchers study societies' major cities, they will be able to understand the most important characteristics of these societies. In contrast, I disagree with this approach and I will discuss my reasons in the following paragraphs.

Studying the major cities helps us to understand societies' economics characteristics that is determiner of other characteristics in all societies. In this regard, some sociologists believe that major cities have been developed by pressure of work forces that have migrated from villages and small cities to cities where have suitable job opportunities, since modern time started. Therefore, they have argued that major cities include suitable mix of all people from all parts of country that help researchers to reveal all characteristics that they have to know. In contrast, I disagree with this approach, because some cities in different countries have not developed just by pressure of work forces. In fact, some major cities developed because of religion reasons and people who live in these cities cannot be suitable simple to understand the most important characteristics of countries, because they do not include all type of people in these countries. You can take Mashhad city in Iran as the best example for this case. This city has been developed, since one of the Islamic religions entered to this city and this city just include people who follow this religion, while there are many different nations and religions in Iran. Thus, in order to understand the most important characteristics of societies, we cannot just focus on major cities.

In the cosmopolitan countries we cannot understand the most important features of these societies just by studying major cities. In this regard, some sociologists have been argued that in the major cities all people usually try to talk with unique language and special culture in order to be like people who run the cities important parts to find suitable job opportunities. Hence, they believe that when we want to know about national characteristics of cosmopolitan countries, if we restrict our research just to major cities, we will not be able to perception different cultures that are in these countries. I agree with this approach, because people from different nations who live in major cities forgot their native languages and cultures, so they cannot help researchers to understand these cultures. You can take one of my cousins as the best example for this case. He is Kurd, but he has been lived in Tehran since he was child, and now he cannot speak by Kurdish language, and he also do not know much things about Kurdish culture. Thus, if we focus on major cities in cosmopolitan countries to understand the most important characteristics of societies, our research will not be complete.

In brief, as I discussed in the previous paragraphs, some people believe that in order to perception the most important feature of societies we have to focus on major cities. In contrast, I argued that this approach is not correct for a couple of reasons. First, some major cities have been developed because of religion reasons and they just include special people in country and cannot be good sample to understand other parts of country, second, in big cities all people try to talk and behavior based on language and culture of cities' runner, hence they cannot be good things to study national characteristics of cosmopolitan countries.