Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

In this argument, the writer believes that because archaeologists found some woven baskets in another village than the village of Palea and this new village located across the brime river from Palea and since archaeologists could not find any boat that was necessary to cross this river, these woven baskets were not specific for Palean people. In my opinion this argument is not strong enough and I will discuss my reasons in the following paragraphs.

The author has argued that because Bim river is very deep and archeologists could not find Palean boats, therefore they have not been able to cross this deep river, consequently, they could not transit their woven baskets to Lithos. This reason cannot be reasonable for many reasons that I am going to point a couple of them. First, this river is deep at our time and the writer does not explain this river in ancient times, since May this river was not existing in ancient times. Second, because of the lack of palean boats in these sites, the writer must not conclude that they cannot cross the river, because in ancient times people usually made boats by wood and may these boats had destroyed before this research.

In the end, the writer believes that these woven baskets were not unique for Palean people, this conclusion cannot be rational, since the author does not present valuable information about relationships between these two villages. In this regard, I have to say these two villages could branch from one village or tribe, therefore both of them knew how to make these baskets.

In brief, in this argument, the writer has to answer some questions that I will present in this paragraph to convince me about this argument. First, whether palean and Lithos people originating from different tribes or villages? Second, is there any archaeologist evidence that shows us Palean people did not have a boat? Third, whether Bim river was deep like now? Four, according to geologic evidence when this river appeared?