“Schools should be responsible not only for teaching academic skills but also for teaching ethical and social values

Schools, especially in a pluralistic nation such as the United States, should limit what they teach to academic subjects—leaving it to parents and clergy to teach ethics. To do otherwise, as the statement suggests, is to invite trouble, as this essay will show.

If our schools are to teach values, the most important question to answer is: Whose values would they teach? After all, not all ethical values are the same. The Amish have a way of life that stresses simplicity and austerity; they shun modern conveniences and even such activities as dancing. By contrast, the typical young, urban family enjoys buying the latest electronic gadgets and going on expensive vacations. Either group might be offended by the values of the other.

True, Amish and urban children aren’t likely to attend the same schools; but what about children from Jewish and fundamentalist Christian households? These two religious groups may live in the same town or neighborhood, and either one might very well be incensed if the other group’s moral teachings were imposed on them.

The only way to avoid the inevitable conflicts that teaching ethics would bring to our schools is by allowing teachers to focus on what they’re paid to do: teach academics. We send children to school to learn math, English, history, and science. How would we feel if our kids came home ignorant about geometry but indoctrinated with someone else’s religious or ethical ideas? Justly annoyed, I think.

Moreover, consider that schoolchildren in the United States lag behind those in most other nations in academic achievement. In light of this fact, it would seem foolish for us to divert classroom time from teaching academics to teaching “morality.”

Ironically, what is most ethical for our schools to do in the interest of educating our children is to avoid becoming entangled in ethical issues. Stick to academics, and let families and clergy teach morality in their own way and on their own time