Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author's conclusion is that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The evidence he provides for this is the finding by archaeologists which suggests a palean basket in Lithos an ancient village across Brim River from Palea. Since the river was very deep and broad, and no Palean boats have been found he believes.The author's conculsion seems to be flawed for a couple of reasons.

As a first, the assumption that there were no boats to be found across the Brim River from palea seems to be so logically flawed. As this was probably thousands of years back which makes the probablity of the boats which the Paleans might have used to cross the river to be still existing there so feable, as there would have probably been so many different civilizations that may have come to that place after that era. Only more research can tell if there were ever were any boats there and if there were any what happened to them later on.

Also, a second assumption that the author makes is that the Paleans only had boats as a method to cross the river during that era. There's no evidence that the author sights in the argument that says building bridges across rivers was not customary during those times. Also, there could have been a case where the water in the river wasn't as deep and the width of the river wasn't as broad at one of the river points. Maybe they could have just crossed the river from that point of the bank on foot easily without and risk of drowning or getting swept away by the sway of river.

Contrary to this, some people might agree to the author that the basket may not have been uniquely Palean attributing to the evidence provide by author that the river was too deep and broad and no boats were found across the Brim River from Palea which would only strengthen the Author's argument if he had provided more evidence as to point if the river was as deep and broad throughout it's length and some other evidence to prove that there were no other civilizations across the Brim river from Palea after the ones which lived there other than the Paleans.

In conclusion, the author's conclusion that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean seems to be flawed logically unless he does some more research to about the river's depth and breadth thoughout its length, the presence of no other civilization after the ones that lived across the river other than the Paleans and the bridges not being customarily built during those times across rivers.