Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The authors prompt says governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive because its the cities where a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated. I tend to disagree with the prompt for a couple of reasons. First being the major cities usually lose their originality due to competition in today's world.Also its the mostly the other cities where you would find the culture and traditions characteristic of the country.Thirdly If its only the major cities that get the attention financially from the government then the other cities and rural towns and villages will be deprived of development, lets dive deeper into these reasons and examples.

As a first in today's fast paced world most major cities are busy in competing with other major cities of the world in the process of which they tend to lose their own traditions and culture. This majorly happened as in the process of competition the major cities and even the population living their tries imitating other cities in aspects like style of living,amenities, development of infrastructure etc. So if the government's aim is to push all their financial support to just these major cities for preserving the culture and traditions this doesn't quite support the conclusion of the author.

Also its the other cities and rural towns and villages in most countries where you will find the culture and traditions still alive. So if the government wants to preserve and strengthen these then it must provide financial support to these other cities,towns and villages as well. As this would not only help boost tourism to the nation but also give and authentic representation of the nation to the outside world.

In addition to this if a government only keeps on financially supporting these major cities then these other cities,rural towns and villages then the very essence of culture and tradition of the country will be lost as the progress and development of these other cities and rural areas will be inhibited and tourists won't really get to explore the real flavor of the nation at best.

In conclusion I would like to say that the author's prompt is that government's must ensure financial support to their major cities for preserving culture and traditions is not agreeable at all not unless the government also supports equally the other cities and rural areas of their country.