The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author's argument is that effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulations is huge as he proposes the same citing a few examples found in a scientific journal. The first one being that in stimulating situations firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity level, as do their younger siblings. Second evidence provided is Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations like return of a parent after an absence. Third evidence provided is that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than those who had had several offsprings. The authors arguments seems to be deeply flawed as due to lack of reasoning and research behind it. Lets take a deeper look why.

Firstly, just because in the firstborn infant monkeys twice as much level of cortisol has been found as compared to their younger siblings it cannot be concluded that they are more stimulated in that their activity levels are higher. This is for pure and obvious reason that there might be other reasons as to why the firstborns were found to be of higher activity level than their younger siblings, like because of a bias their parents tend to have towards their firstborn or something like that. Also what was the sample size of monkey population studied for this inference, if the size were too small again it points to a lack of research.

Moreover, in the seconds evidence as well where the firstborns of humans are know to produce higher levels of cortisol in stimulating situations like the return of a parent after absence, how many cases were studied to point to this evidence is very important. Until the study was done on a large number of human families the author's argument cannot be agreed with.

Thirdly, during the study it was also found the first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than those who had several offsprings. Here its not at all pointed out that how higher exactly on average are the levels of cortisol. Only if the the average difference is quite substantial can the argument of the author be agreed on, otherwise it still points to the fact that the research is a incomplete.

In conclusion, the argument was asked to be evaluated and its seems that the claim that birth order effects the levels of stimulation cannot be agreed upon until there's more research which accurately points to the argument being true or the same research is at least conducted on a significant sample size of population monkeys, humans and maybe some other species as well.