Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The author's says that some people believe government funding of arts is necessary to ensure that arts flourish and can be available to all people while others believe that governement funding of arts threatens the integrity of arts.I think i agree more with the former prompt for a couple of reasons. First for example the handicraft arts in Kashmir in my country is still restricted to the same state since government hasn't ever funded the same ever. Since only some people with wealth enough to keep this priceless skill alive have been able to manage to continue following the same line but the art has been restricted to this small group of people. Secondly the roots of arts like say the art of making sarees from banana leaves that is native to another region in India down south are confined to those areas itself, need of governement funding to make this arts available to all is essential.Lets dive deep into these examples ahead.

So as a first the handicraft arts in Kashmir like those of shawl making its been confined to a very small group of people who had the knowledge and the money to keep pursuing the same is still restricted within those regions. People still travel from all around the world including India as well to buy those shawls in Kashmir. I strongly believe if this art is not to die soon, government funding is a must to these regions as then the people from these areas can show the art to the world and maybe this can be taught to people belonging to different regions of the country as well.

Also the Saree making art from banana leaves down south of India even though its not a dying art but it is strictly reserved to those regions of the country. Here the people need the government funding really badly to make the art available to other regions of the country and hence pass on the same to a wider variety of people as a whole.There's no other way those people could reach a wider audience of both people who want to learn the art but also those who would cherish seeing and experiencing it.

Moreover there might be people who would say that the government funding would threaten the integrity of the art what this specifically means is it would lead to dilation or impurities in the native or original art form. But I still say that it wouldn't do any harm history is replete with examples of modifications and enhancements to art forms such as Matisse who learnt from and modified a lot of art forms by Picasso and the world still remembers Picasso's original works as they were the original masterpieces that lead to such evolution in today's modern day art.

In conclusion I would say that the author's prompt that government funding is required for arts to flourish and be available to all is quite convincing given the examples that I sited and the alernate prompt that it would threaten the integrity of arts is not so much true as it only leads to evolution of the arts making it even more so desirable that it in turn flourish and is available to all in the modern world.