Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that previously Woven baskets believed its production only Palea people, and later the archaeologists have found the same baskets in nearby Lithos. Although the archaeologists didn’t discover the mean by which these baskets carried, the prompt says that baskets are not unique. This prompt is rife of holes as it depends on unwarranted evidence; thus, to evaluate the argument evidence is needed.

First, if the baskets as they mentioned in the first part of the argument; and they made only by Palea people because the archaeologists didn’t discover such distinctive characteristic of baskets before Palea village. This evidence is unwarranted as it perhaps these baskets were made by other people, but the archaeologists didn’t discover them yet. AS it probably conveyed by connecting trade between those villages (Palea and somewhere else). Thus, the argument needs to provide geographic evidence whether there no other people who were older than Palea. If the above scenario is valid, that means the argument statement significantly weakened.

Second, if the second part of the argument is correct regarding that baskets are not unique because of discovering the nearby village, this is not strong evidence. Discovering another village nears to Palea village doesn’t mean anything regarding the argument concern. Let’s consider both sides; if the conclusion of the argument is correct and these baskets not unique; and it also made by this nearby village, there is missed evidence to valid such conclusion. The archaeologists didn’t find how these baskets transported from Palea village to Lithos; they didn’t even any evidence about the boats which proposed the mean of transportation. Therefore, before confirming such a conclusion; there is missed evidence of how these baskets were conveyed, then know who was the initiator for the basket. Thus, if this prospect has merit; the conclusion has drawn in the argument is invalid.

Third, being the river when they found it recently is deep that means that it was deep before as it could be more shallow and not such broad. The argument needs to provide more information about the weather as well as the geographic condition to be able to evaluate whether the river was deep and valid for boats or not. Again if the above situation is correct, the argument doesn’t hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed. The argument needs more evidence to be feasible to evaluate the conclusion. Otherwise, the provided information doesn’t support the validity of the argument.