Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The author has cited some facts and come to the conclusion that a particular type of basket, once presumed to be unique to Palean people is not entirely so. However, the argument presented by the author is rife with holes and unwarranted assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to buttress the preceded conclusion.

The author's conclusion is based on a questionable assumption that by no means the Palean basket could have landed ashore on the Lithos's side. However, it is plausible that the baskets could have ended there due to various other reasons. For all we know, the baskets could have floated over the river to the other side, or were sold by a Palean merchant to a buyer from Lithos. Also, just because an item is found somewhere doesn't necessarily mean that it was made there.

Additionally, the author implies that the Paleans didn't have boats to cross the river, as no evidence of their presence has been found till date. Perhaps they had boats but those couldn't survive through time, or that the remains could have been washed by the Brim river and deposited at some distant location, which has not yet been explored by researchers. There simply isn't sufficient evidence in the argument to utterly negate the existence of Palean boats. Also, it is possible that the people of Lithos had boats, and that they sailed over to the Palean side and traded with them. A proper approach to validating this information would be to carry out a search for the remains of Lithian boats.

Furthermore, the is no significant information about the Brim river in the argument. Perhaps the river came into existence by some geographical phenomenon post this period. If the broad and deep river wasn't there demarcrating the ancient villages of Palea and Lithos, people then wouldn't require boats to travel from one village to the other in the first place. It would be more prudent to ascertain the history of the river before implying the necessity of boats.

In sum, various important avenues are left unexplored in the argument, due to which the conclusion seems feeble. It would be wise to address those areas prior to setting any firm conclusion on the matter.