Woven baskets charecterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a " Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim river form Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crosed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The origin of ancient things is difficult to find out as it requires drastic search in various areas and requires talent to differentiate various talents/ practices. One such type of work is Palean weaving mentioned in the argument.

Since we found a very distinctive pattern of work in Palean region, it is understandable as why it was concluded to be their unique style and done by them. However, it cannot be inferred confidently after same type of art work is found in different areas.

The baskets' pattern could be of a different origin but being heavily used for employment in Palean region. For instance, we have food in India, so commonly consumed here, like samosa. it is of Chinese origin but it is almost believed to be of Indian food.

we cannot simply assume that since the river is deep, nobody could have crossed it. there might have been a brigde which has been submerged and not excavated due to the depth. Some people might have crossed the river through another way. there are fair chances that it is originated from a different village or country.

Having said that, there are also chances that the baskets were actually of Palean origin and spread to nearby villages through markets and were used to large extent since the possibility of commute cannot be totally nullified from given inferences.

Thus we cannot conclude its roots unless we find any scripts or articles which describe us about the findings and details of how and when the artwork started and spread.