A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The issue given talks about the curriculum to be followed in schools nation wide. I think this is a good idea to have a common syllabus for all the students till they reach college where they pursue the course of their interest in depth. this method requires all the educational institutions to teach same subjects to students irrespective of its state or type of schools they are.

The common curriculum helps the children get all the required basic knowledge about their country, about the general knowledge of geography and important aspects essential for everyone going forward.

this way removes many inequalities among pupils. For instance, these days students pay huge amounts of money to get IIT coaching in schools but many people ,though talented might not be able to afford it in that stage. As a result, they lack behind in college and lose good opportunities. When same subject is studied by everyone, the assessment and recognition of talent is easier and it is beneficial for students from low economic background.

Some of the schools train their students on particular subject more than others which might deter the interest of students to pursue other fields of education. this method should be used to make the schools give equal importance to every possible way of study.

this practice might effect students who donot find interest in common subjects but since the basic level of knowledge helps them in later stages of life and gives awareness about the things around, I think this practice is very useful