The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

From the given argument, it seems nearly reasonable to allocate more money to advertising to increase public awareness about movies produced by super screen but there are some questions which might effect this conclusion significantly.

it is said that fewer people attended movies than in any other year. Here, it is not mentioned if there is a release of any high budget movie colliding with release of their movies. there might be several reasons why people did not watch. if there are some important exams during which a movie is released, it might not attract many audience. if movie is released in wrong timing, for example, if its world cup season, more people are inclined to watch movies related to sports rather than other normal romantic or comedy movies. timing is definitely a great factor to assess response which is not considered in given argument and it weakens the proposal as there is no relation to marketing here.

Another research which could have been done is analysis of other movies released during same time period. if those movies also weren't successful, it could be blamed on timing.On the other hand, if they were successful, there is a chance that quality of super screen movie is less than those. Even though their movies got good reviews, maybe other movies doing well got greater reviews. The ranking of the movies in terms of reviews would help analyse this factor more clearly. if rank is low, they should focus more on investing in good quality scripts which audience relate to.

Coming to the advertising, one point to be considered is how much was the company investing on marketing before. if people were aware with less investment previously, it is possible that they are aware of movies this year also. however if other companies are marketing more in other platforms and other ways using latest innovations in marketing, there might be need to allocate more money. Another question is, how many people are really following reviews. how many audience come to watch movie considering reviews? Since reviews are lesser in previous years but audience is less in present year, it can be inferred that many people are not following reviews.

however investing more share will make movie reach more audience. it is good to reach more people but it should be made sure that we are not doing a redundant job. More research needs to be done to identify the problem if it is quality of film or the time of release and required measures need to be taken.