The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The manager of the restaurant specifies that replacing butter with margarine has no impact on their business as they have not received too many complaints from customers. Here the management is missing some major facts in concluding that this is a good decision.

Firstly, they have considered the percentage of customers who have complained about the product but they have not taken into account the number of customers who have bought their pancakes before and after the replacement. Most of the customers who might not have liked margarine might have refrained from complaining but eventually might have stopped their purchase from their restaurants.this is the assumption they made that number of people buying the product didn't differ.

On the other hand, there is an other assumption the business manager made which is that the customers who aren't able to recognize the change between butter and margarine are actually content with the new pancake. Once they are informed, they might actually find the difference and give a negative feedback about it. So, other explanation also rules out the fact that margarine usage is happily accepted.

I also feel that since margarine is healthier than butter, some of the customers who have recognized the difference might not have complained about it but it doesn't mean that they are happy about it. The duty of servers is to clearly tell the customers that they are being served margarine instead of butter. it is their fault to lie to them and use the silence as acceptance. Though this category of users are not too against the change, it doesn't imply this change is good business choice.