1. Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The author of the prompt adduces that there should not be any restriction by the governors for the scientific activities. This is the claim with which I partially do concur. Among the countless reasons which give adherence to my viewpoint; I will list the most conspicuous ones in the following paragraphs, to rear my standpoint.

The first striking point which should be considered is the flourished basement that the free environment provides for explorations. In fact, it is obvious that the free circumstance does not possess any burden on the human being; therefore, he has the limitless mind which could explore in any area. According to noteworthy novel research conducted by the Psychology Department of Tehran University, the mind is fifty-five percent more creative in the limitless area rather than the banned realm. Based on this research, while there is no limit and barrier, the mind puts entire its concentration on the topic; consequently, its outcome is more efficient. This research lucidly explains, the impact of rules implemented by the governor which could narrow downed the inventors’ focus area and reduces the proficiency of the outcome form conducted research.

Another equal crux point which should be considered is the leaders possess the lack of familiarity with the scientific topics. In another word, the governors are dominant in the field of politics which is far away from the scientific activities. Thus, any rule or ban which is defined by the governor is a foreigner in the realm of science and its activities. Consequently, this shabby and weak rule appointed based on fragile understanding, will not fit with the real scientific environment; in addition, it is an annoying factor which prevents the exploration of scientists.

However, what is discussed in the two abovementioned paragraphs, should not be overgeneralized. The fact that any scientific activity should be fitted into human rights never and ever should be underestimated by the inventors. Besides, this prevention is possible the conducted laws by the governors. Indeed, the chasm creativity and intelligence of the human brain pave the paths for any types of exploration some of which can be harmful to mankind. An instance of this harmful finding is the nuclear weapon. Actually, at the beginning phase, the nuclear energy was a great option for the energy sources which could be an alternative option for the fossil fuels; on the other hand, with endless thought of human beings it converted to a nuclear weapon and it ended with the fatal outcomes in the Nagasaki and Hiroshima. This example comprehensively depicts the importance of controlling over scientific activities.

To wrap it up, based on the all aforementioned facts, there should be a control over the scientific activities; however, it should not be a restriction over the activities and it should be according to the awareness from the field of science.