1. Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The author asserts there are two conventional schools about the characteristic of a successful leader. One school believes that the competition is the vital element of success by the manager; on the other hand, the other school overweighs the role of cooperation in the triumph of the leader. In what follows, I will list the possible reasons for both opinions and finally, state my position toward the issue.

The opinion that highlights the importance of the competition for the success of the leader seems to possess this outlook that having the sense of racing keeps you closer to success. In fact, the human being has an abysmal for achievemnt; consequently, there is no end for the progress. In this scenario, there will be someone who is more prosperous than others in the specific field; therefore, by possessing a competitive spirit, the leader will have a plan to be a step further than other managers on that area. This position seems considered as the warranted success for the leader by the first group.

As mentioned, another group give value to the sense of cooperation in becoming a successful leader. This group thought-out cooperation as a platform for rearing and exchange the knowledge and information for the shit. In other word, with cooperation there is a basement with greater networking that supports and shares for the purpose of more productivity; besides, more productivity is an indicator of success. The example of score could shed the spotlight for better understanding of this viewpoint. In the score game, the cooperation between the scorers and team leader provide a lucid understanding for the leader about the team. In this case, the leader completely knows which player has which strength and what kind of team combination could lead to success. Thus, this type of success is unachievable unless there will be cooperation between the members and the leader.

I should say that it is the second perspective with which I largely concur. First of all, from my point of view, the reason for which the second group relies on to support the idea is sensible and plausible. Furthermore, I have one more reason which makes me believe that the successful manager should be cooperative rather than the competitive. The fact which is underestimated by the first school is the main responsibility of a leader. The crucial duty of a leader is handling teamwork. The base of the teamwork is collaboration. In fact, a team is a network with various organs each of which possess a role for the thrive of a team and it is unachievable utile there will be the assist between them. Therefore, the main role of the leader is providing the required assist between the organs to guaranteed success. That is how cooperation outweighs the competition.

To wrap it up, although there are two different perspectives about the main feature for the success of a leader. From my perspective, cooperation is more important than competition.