Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author claims that the scholars should go beyond the boundaries which they expect to achieve a quick and functional application. The writer further supports his claim with the reason that the prediction of the research result is impossible. I fundamentally do not concur with this disposition.

First of all, I prefer to clarify the goal of any exploration and invention. From my perspective, all these innovative activities are for the sake of scientists’ knowledge and intelligence and the shortage or the demand of society. Consequently, two factors have a role in the appearance of any innovative outcome. At this paragraph, the demand of society is considered for the discussion. All research proposals are shaped according to the necessity of something which is missing in the community. Therefore, this insufficiency urges the immediate response by which ignorance, the disastrous outcomes such as the fatality of population could occur. A lucid example which shed light over my argument is the exploration of vaccine by Edward Jenner. This innovative exploration was happened according to the emergency requirement of society in that era; otherwise, there would be thousands of mortalities.

As mentioned, another parameter of the innovative activities is the knowledge of scientist. This information gives a profound insight toward the issue which could also give futuristic outlook over the topic. This outlook helps the scholar to have some expectation and awareness of his or her scientific activities’ ultimate result. Therefore, the reason for a prompt which denies the possibility of expected outcome from the exploration or invention is a shaky reason. Furthermore, the scientific research needs the adherences during its process, this support could be in fields such as the financial, informative, or even the belief of its effectiveness. For attracting these adherences there is a demand for a proposal which explains the aim, method, materials, and expected outcomes. By this proposal, the researcher finds the proper rearing sources for his or her activities.

Finally, it is possible to consider some innovative investigations which do not possesses both the above-mentioned benchmark at the same time. For instance, the heliocentric hypothesis is presented by the Nicolaus Copernicus which was beyond his era knowledge and understanding; thus, it was overlooked and underestimated on that period. Actually, this exploration happened for the sake of the Copernicus ingenuity which does not match with that era’s belief and understanding. In this scenario, is it logical to correlate this innovative exploration to the Copernicus’ broad research area or his deep and abysmal knowledge?! Of course, his knowledge ends to this consequence.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned arguments illustrates my stand toward the claim and its reason and why I do not agree with them.