1. The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author asserts that each individual’s dignity is captured by the later generation rather than the people who live contemporary with that specific person. This is the claim with which I partially do concur. Among the countless rearing reasons which give adherence to my perspective, I will delve into the most conspicuous ones in the following paragraphs to support my standpoint.

The first striking reason which appeals me to agree with this sentence is the scope of some achievements which are beyond the public’s understanding. In other word, for the sake of the upper level of genius in some feats, those accomplishments do not fit into the ordinary people’s level of appreciation. These mismatches mostly are occurred in the field of science, in which because of steps further intelligence in scientists; they propose or propound ideas which do not comprehend by the public with an ordinary level of cognition. A lucid example of the stated sentence which shed spotlights on the issue is the example of Nicolas Copernicus; an astrophysicist who posed the theory of heliocentrism. However, since this theory was completely against the religious belief of that period, he preferred to publish it secretly to not get the label of a heretic from church and people. This example lucidly shows that the above achievements, especially in the field of science, require extra time for better comprehension from the topic.

The second equal crux reason for accepting this claim is the credit of better understanding which is gained from a perspective that is aside from the phenomenon rather than from s center. In fact, the holistic and comprehensive appreciation is captured in the case which is steps beyond the topic; therefore, it can capture the topic from different and major perspectives. Furthermore, this comprehensive outlook gives the chance of better recognition from the topic. In this case, the gained recognition gives the chance of comparison and contrast of that specific event attributes with others; consequently, this situation lets for the proliferated understanding of the issue and its greatness. For example, all Gundi’s contributions are mostly admired after his death, since by the passage of time, the people get this holistic appreciation about his attempts for privileging the freedom spirits.

On the other hand, what is mentioned in the two above paragraphs should not be overgeneralized to all fields and achievements. Indeed, in some areas such as the sport and art, the talent and effectiveness get bolded as soon as they are presented in some platform. Besides, for the sake of fast and complete coverage of news by social media, these talents and greatness are got known very fast by the contemporary people. In addition, since the level of achievements are not beyond the people’s level of cognition, they applauded as soon as they are covered by media.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned reasons explicitly depict that in some fields there should be the factor of time passage for possessing the better appreciation from the issue; however, some other fields get admired as soon as they get recognized by people.