In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Is there a real hero who saves people, conducts good deeds, and receives reverence from the public, but does not have any defects? It seems not. With the advent of media, being a hero has become almost impossible for the following reasons.

Firstly, intensive media coverage of these days frequently reveals misbehaves of those who called heroes. Humans are not perfect and all of us have defects however it is severe or trifling. However, there are some people who are called heroes who believed to have perfect personalities. Can it be real? Perhaps no. Those who called heroes might be the people whose defects or badness have not yet revealed. People are intrigued by those who seem perfect and expect that they would be different from us. Then, with this kind of interest, the media covers them more intensely tracking all the behaves and movements. However, since there is no perfect person, the media will soon catch some disappointing moments - it can be a severe one or just a small one. If those are reported in news or on YouTube, the public will be disappointed and those will not be able to be called heroes anymore. Thus, as people are not perfect and intensive media coverage would reveal it, no one can be considered a hero.

Secondly, media sometimes convey false news, and once people’s perception gets negative, recovering it is difficult. Media always want to make somewhat astonishing to draw more interest from people. So, they are eager to catch some socking moments of heroes tracking all of their footprints. However, this attitude is detrimental to report disinterested facts, and it makes them susceptible to report false news. If false news had a huge influence on the public, it would be hard to return. Once the public is disappointed about something, they are more likely to keep that disappointed state. Thus, once the media misreport about heroes, they will lose their position as heroes without opportunities to exculpate themselves.

Perhaps some still believe that there are real heroes and they can maintain their pristine names forever. However, due to the media, it has become almost impossible especially considering the two points mentioned in this article.