An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

In my understanding, I think it is very right move to know the brief history of the doctor before the treatment. Patients will be having options which doctor to choose and from which hospital. Patients will be having a variety of options and so he can ultimately can get the best treatment.

As the patient will be knowing about the doctor then he/she would be having a self confidence that the doctor has done enough of the practice and there is a high chances that he will be definitely getting cured. This will already change the patient mindset that doctor is experienced in his ailing problem, that itself do the half of the cure. For example, half of the psychotics diseases are already in the mind of the patience, knowing the doctor he/she referring to is the best in the field of curing that disease, patient is automatically started to better.

Also, its not all about the mindset of patients. It is also about the rating of doctor. Rating is about the past treatment done by the doctor. Earlier satisfied patients will give a better rating, by which doctor can prove his credibility. In addition to that, if the doctor is getting good then he/she is worthy enough to be get treated. Better the rating, better doctor implies better treatment.

However, if we look at the past record of the doctors, there can be some mishappenings with doctors. There can be some cases where the patient was ill enough that he cannot be cured and ultimately doctor didn't able to cure him/her at all. This will definitely going to reflect on the doctor's past record, which abstain the new ailing patient to choose that doctor. In spite of learning the case fully, people rely on surface knowledge and these kind of cases will directly blame the doctor and ruin the rating of doctor, which will ultimately hobble the patients for doctor's future treatment.

Doctor may have learned new things from his experience but the past ratings will keep affecting the rating of doctor, which will hamper the doctor to become a successful one and patients will still avoid getting treated by the doctor.

In addition to that, higher rating doctor will be having a higher fee which I am very sure not everyone can afford. This will affect patients with lower income.

The inference is doctor's record will definitely affect the ailing patients in negative as well as positive way but one should choose whether this record should be disclosed or not to the patients. As the past record can help choosing the best doctor but it can also stain the reputation of a doctor if he/she has done some minor mistake, which will affect patients trust on the doctor.