An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

The issue contends that any ailing patient should have an access to see the records of their respective doctor who is giving treatment to the another patient suffering from the same disease as he/she is going through. It states that by having this access would allow the ailing patient to determine whether the doctor is capable of treating the disease through which he/she is undergoing. Not all the diseases are same, they are somewhat different in some extent and there would be a subtle difference in diseases which we as a common people can't able to see, but a doctor can because they are in the profession, they are experts in what they are doing. And we as a common people have a limited knowledge of diseases and we superficially know about the disease but not fully. So any patient going under some treatment by a doctor should not be allowed to see other patient's report as they could not fully understand the report and might be misconstrue the report and come to a conclusion which would just be his/her imagination.

In today's world day by day there is an increase in cases where we come to know about a new disease which has not been encountered yet and treatment would be different for all of them. It would be inappropriate to just extrapolate the results of some another patient going through similar treatment because the issue itself states that similar but not same. Every person's immune system is unique from other's, some of the people would be immune to some particular disease where some would not be immune to that particular disease and every person's body react differently to the same disease, so we can't just say that if two people are suffering from a same disease, it might possible that both are cured or only one would be able to recover or neither, so we can't say anything about the present condition.

For example, if an area get's affected by some flu and the people living in the same area get's affected by a that common flu. Now a person goes to a doctor for his/her treatment, it could be possible that in the presence of the doctor some casualties might happen and at the same time the doctor has also saved lives of many people, and the number of people saved would be far more higher than the casualties. So one cannot say by afflicted person's report that what is going to happen with them.

The conclusion is the ailing patient should not deduce his /her result from someone's result and they should not have the access to the record of the doctor's treatment record, as most of the doctors are trying their best to save life's. So we just have to gain a trust if we are choosing a doctor and hope for the best.