All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

This topic raises a controversial issue whether schools should require parents to volunteer some of to time to work in their school. Indisputably, this assertion is helpful because it's provide room for parents to be among the building process of their child's education. Nevertheless, most parents cannot do this for various reasons such as lack of time due to one reason or the other. Thus, I will argue that school should not make it required for all parents rather that should make it flexible such that only those parents that can should volunteer in their child's school.

When parents enrol their children in schools, all they want is how best that child can be improved academically and build all round knowledge. This is better achieved when parents volunteer in schools their children attend, because it will make them to be in the front line of the building up of their children directly of indirectly. For example, when parents volunteer in schools to do one job or the other, it will reduce the work-load on the teachers therefore, these teachers will have more time to teach and impact positive knowledge on these children. Also, when children are seeing their parents around the school premises, it gives them a kind of serene environmental feeling, making these children to bring their guard down hence enjoying all the activities that is being done in school. Another very important aspect of a child education is steering that child to the right career path. Thus will be better achieved when parents volunteer to speak with these children on career talk, simulating and explaining their experiences on each of their respective career. It gives the children a better and clearer understanding of the career path they should choose.

However, as advantageous it is for parents to volunteer in school for various reasons, it is not possible for all parents to be required to do this , because not all parents have the luxury of time. For example a parent that is struggling to put his or her child through school doing more than one job, an astronaut who is always at the International Space station for most part of the year or even a surgeon that have several patients to take care of, these set of parents that falls in these categories will not have time to volunteer in school where their attend. In Nigeria for example, most parents are illiterate such that they cannot communicate with simple English language, when such parents are required to volunteer in schools, the school teachers will end up spending more time to explain the process and what is expected from them which will lead to reduced efficiency from such teachers because most of the time that would have been directed to teaching students is used in explaining and directing illiterate parents.

In conclusion, schools should not make it required to all parents to volunteer in their children school because, as explained in the examples given above it is not possible for all parents to do these for various reasons such as time, lack of education and so on. Therefore the rule should be made flexible.