All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The speaker states that the companies should not hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate efficiently but rather should spend more time considering the suggestions of their own employees. On one hand, I agree to the speaker as this would definitely reduce the cost of company. On the other hand, the outside consultants can be more efficient as they have a broader perspective of looking at the economy than the employees who tend to work in only one domain.

On one hand, by hiring outside consultants, not only does the company spend money extravagantly on the them, but also increases the potent risk of misuse of the information about the company. Sometime, hiring consultants can even be unfruitful since the dependability on them can vary on a large scale. Moreover, one cannot guarantee fully on the consultants. Employees can be more dependable since they are bound by the law to the company. For example, there are various labs and startups which can act as consultants to a big firm and can provide various suggestions. But, since it is just a startup which cannot be guaranteed, misuse of information of the company can take place.

On the other hand, I feel that the companies should hire consultants. Consultancy firms are highly professional and provide best suggestions. They have had clients all over the world and know how to tackle tedious problems in a well defined manner. Various consultancy firms like PWC, Deloitte, EY are highly reputed consultancy firms. The consultants give valuable suggestions to the company thereby reducing the efforts of the company. Moreover, they also have good experience and are highly dependable since even they have prove their worth.

The consultancy firms are updated with the latest technology which the employees of the company might not be. Admittedly, the company will have to invest more on the employees. Instead of burdening the employees with various tasks, the company can give the same to the consultants. Also, there are chances that the suggestion provided by the employee might not be reliable. Thus, instead of taking various risks, the company should hire consultants and provide them the responsibilities.

In sum, the employees of the company can be unreliable since they have not updates themselves to the broad aspects of the economy. By hiring the consultants, the not only will the efficiency of the company increase but also the accuracy of the suggestions and the assurance of the outcome.