"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this memo, advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company states that Super Screen should allocate a greater share of its budget the following year to reaching the public through advertising. To support this argument, the advertising director states that fewer people have attended the movie the previous year even after having high percentage of positive reviews by the moview reviewers. Furthermore, the director bolsters it by stating that the problem lies with the lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available to them and not with the quality of the movie. I feel that the argument is not convincing as its appears after careful scrutiny. It is flawed in various cases.

Firstly, the advertising director gives no evidence regarding the authenticity of the positive reviews given by the movie reviewers. There might cases where the positive reviews might be flawed. Moreover, false postive reviews might be given to the movie.

Secondly, the advertising director only focuses on one factor that is the postive reviews given by the moview reviewers. There can be other factors which can judge the quality of the movie like the popularity of the actors in the movie. The director fails to consider other cases which can affect the number of target rating point of the movie.

Thirdly, no information regarding the Super Screen Movie Production Company has been provided. There might be chances that the company has been infamous due to various scandals and has been blacklisted by the censor board which rates the company and the movies produced by the same.

Fourthly, there can be various cases where even the good quality movie can be leaked by the employee or someone else related to the company. Admittedly, this leak can affect the attendance of the people watching the movie legally. The advertising director might not have noticed the case of illegal distribution of the movie or piracy of the movie.

In sum, the argument is flawed in many cases. The advertising director must provide more information regarding the movie reviewers and the details of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. Also, the director should also focus on other factors which govern the quality of movie than only depending on the rating of the movie. Furthermore, the director should take care of the piracy issues of the movie seriously. Finally, after careful analysis, the company should decide upon allocating the greater share of its budget next year.