All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

I completely agree with the statement that hiring external consultants is an effective way for companies to operate more efficiently.

Sometimes a third person's opinion might give a different outlook to the perspective. This is true in this case. A consultancy firm looks at the working and functioning of the company from an impartial and unbiased view, which could provide a fresh perspective. This could help in improving the performance of company. Various companies like Deloitte, McKinsey have become Fortune 100 companies because many companies in the world value this fresh perspective of the third party.

These consultancies not only provide suggestions but also provide solutions to integrate their suggested changes. This reduces the workload of the hiring company and hence, makes the process of improvisation effective. The companies offer a range of solutions varying from technical, analytical to business and market analysis. The systematic and methodological approach of these consultancies helps in careful breakdown and analysis of the problem, which generally is a humongous task for the hiring company.

Moreover, it is not true that all the suggestions provided by the employees are for the improvement of the organisation.Sometimes certain suggestions from the employees would be in their own selfish interests and not in the benefit of the company. This could prove to be a problem for the company as it results in a massive waste of both time and human workforce.

Thus, sometimes outsourcing a difficult problem is a better solution than trying to tackle it alone.

Hence, many companies prefer to hire consultancies for improving their organisational and production capabilities.