In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature

Education is a process of teaching and learning which seeks to improve knowledge and skills. In other words, education can be called a step towards progress and development since it aims at making the society knowledgeable and skilled. In the process, education involves changing some of the long held ideas and beliefs. The author claims that students should be encouraged to take multiple different courses in order to make them well rounded individuals. There is a merit in making this suggestion as this fosters and enables students to acquire skills outside their niche area however, it should not be a mandatory requirement.

Learning is a constant and never ending process. As a student every individual must strive to learn as many different things as possible. Steve Jobs had famously said, ”It is not possible to connect the dots of the future. The dots can only be connected by looking at the past”. This means that an individual cannot predict if the skills acquired are useful or not unless and until the student waits patiently for a few years. Therefore, every individual must strive to learn new things irrespective of their area of study. It is the act of learning that is important not the value obtained from the course, as every new course contributes in some way or the other to the individual’s personality.

Moreover, by promoting to participate in various courses apart from the standard curriculum the university encourages student to have multiple different hobbies and passions and hence makes their life multi dimensional. There is a saying that “ All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy”. This is true to a great extent. By taking different courses out of the standard curricula enables the student to interact with individuals having different interests and makes the student versatile in nature. This not only helps in increasing the productivity of the student but also helps them to foster multiple hobbies which prevents their life from getting monotonous.

However, even though it is necessary to have different hobbies and focus on being a well rounded individual, the author has gone too far claiming that every student must be forced to take variety of different courses. The choice of whether to select a course out of their field of study should be left to student. Sometimes an individual prefers to dedicate 100% focus to their chosen field of study in order to gain an expertise in that field. Even this approach is completely understandable as every student has to have their own saying in choosing their hobbies.

Finally, I would like to conclude saying that every university should promote students to take a variety of courses it should not be made mandatory on the student to choose such courses. Every student has the right to choose their own courses as these courses serve only the primary purpose of making the life of student multi dimensional.