Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Education is a process of teaching and learning which seeks to improve knowledge and skills. In other words, education can be called a step towards progress and development since it aims at making the society knowledgeable and skilled. In the process, education involves changing some of the long held ideas and beliefs. The author claims that education institutes should the educational institutions promote and encourage students to follow a path where the probability of success is high. Even though there is certain merit in this claim it is riddled with shortcomings. What is the ideal definition of success? Do all people who do not follow the trend deemed unsuccessful? These are some of the questions which the author has not addressed.

Success can be a relative term. For some people success can be defined as a financial stability while for other it can be deemed as independence from the 9 to 5 job. Therefore instead of focussing on training students for the “lucrative” jobs , educational institutes should focus on making the student independent and bold enough to make proper choices in life and prepare the candidate to face the resultant consequences. The main focus of education should be to free the student and make them capable of thinking on their own and not to train them for a specific career. Education is meant to foster creativity and propose unique solutions for the existing problems and not fall prey avaricious desires of humans.

Moreover, there have been various examples in the past as well as in the present where people have chosen their passion over traditional course of action and have been very affluent in doing the same. Mark Zuckerberg, Bill Gates, Peter Theil are some of the prime examples in this case. These pioneers choose to follow their dreams over the pressing attitude of their educational institutions and hence successfully made an impact in the world. This not only enabled them to make an impact but also helped them create successful and creative startups that foster millions of jobs.

However, the above mentioned approach has a sizeable disadvantage as well. Even though such a approach fosters and bolsters creativity, there is a sizeable risk involved in such an approach. Sometimes creativity is not openly accepted by the society and neither is independence. Consider the example of Van Gogh, an epitome of creativity and a genius in his field who went unrecognised till the time of his death. Van Gogh sold only one painting till his death since his style of painting was not openly accepted during that era. There is also a huge risk of failure involved and hence it could be one reason that educational institutes try to encourage students to take more “stable” jobs compared to the “riskier” ones.

However, finally to conclude I would like to state that, even though there are many risks and shortcomings to the philosophy of “following your passion” it is always better to chase your dream and strive for financial and creative independence rather than traverse an already treaded path and do a mundane and ubiquitous job which would hold you in chains and deprive you of the basic right – the ability to think independently and creatively.